The Adventures of Stinky Sweet:

Sometimes stinky. Sometimes sweet. But it's our life - and it is always good.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

the drama.

Finally went to the Dr. today for the headache going on 8 days. It was a dramatic afternoon to say the least. Everything seems fine at the moment, after a visit to my regular doc, a trip across town to see a surgeon, and a referral to a neurologist. Exciting afternoon, a bit o' panic, and yet still - I have a headache. Please say a prayer for me that we can get this figured out and I can sneeze without searing my temple. In all seriousness, I seem to be fine, and will tell the whole story later...maybe.

Monday, March 28, 2011

2 away.

I am 2 posts away from 700. That is a lot of talking and writing and thinking and sharing. Thanks for being on this journey with me. I asked Chad what I should blog about today...he said these things: - tell them how it has been raining for days, it seems (and he forgets to be thankful because it is prime fire season around here so I am being thankful for him). things are starting to bloom and leaf out making them harder to burn but for now, I am thankful for the rain. (as long as my back yard does not wash away) - tell them how you have an eye appointment, for the first time in years. I am a little embarrassed about this one. I had the same pair of glasses (for reading and computer using) for a few years before I moved to Chattanooga and that was about 2 and a half years ago. It is truly about time. Maybe I can get some stylish new eyes... - He also told me to tell you that we are ready to sell my car - any takers? We are using our tax refund to purchase a new (to us - used of course) car. We've been researching, planning, praying, more research - hoping to make the best, wisest, most frugal, safe decision that we can. And that includes getting rid of my Saturn Vue. My only project this week is to clean it out - nice and good - give her a good vacuum and take some pictures to post with the listing. I will link to it when we get it up. We are gonna start on Craigslist and see where it goes...wish us luck! Headed to bed. I'm on day #7 of the headache. It is only truly unbearable when I cough or sneeze. And yes, I have finally called the Dr. and made an appt. for tomorrow afternoon. Let's hope that we can resolve this quickly. Other than that, I am looking forward to an uneventful week - and working NO NIGHTS. It's gonna be good stuff! P.S. I have been inspired by Danielle's changing of the photo on top of her blog and I finally took the time to figure out how to do it on mine. This was one of our engagement/we-were-actually-already-married pictures by Lindsey. Love it! What do you think about the new header? P.P.S. I promise I put paragraph spaces in here. Blogger must hate me.

Friday, March 25, 2011

fast one.

A quick little shorty before I head to work this morning. You haven't heard from me in the mornings in quite a while because I am usually at the gym this time of day...I will be going at lunch time today so I got to sleep in for a bit.
Still have the headache - going on day 4 here. I am convinced that it is related to sinus, nose grosssness, allergies, all the pollen on my car, etc. so I am going to stop and get some allergy meds on my way to work and cross my fingers that works wonders. It is hard to operate when your brain hurts - though I am trying really, really hard not to complain (it isn't easy, by the way).
I have an overnight event tonight, for which I will not be spending the night. I will go for a while and then come home and get some sleep because we have a big event at the office tomorrow that I have to go to as well. I just lurve to work Saturdays - oops, sarcasam - sorry. Hopefully Chad will be able to change my oil and my brakes on my car while I am at work (he volunteered!) and then we can hang out some tomorrow night. I am truly looking forward to some sweet time with my husband!

Also, looking forward to a mid-April trip to Asheville! More details on that later!

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

the plague.

I stayed home sick today with the plague that Chad so sweetly brought home from work. Apparently all the guys passed it around in the past couple weeks and it came home to visit us (though frankly, I wasn't willing to give up kissing him to avoid it - was that too much information?). Other than feeling like my head might just possibly explode and like my throat may just be on fire, I am feeling OK. True confessions though, I went to the gym this morning - thinking that was a good idea - and then came home and went back to bed. For 3 hours. Yes, my name is Paula and I slept until 12:30. Obviously I needed it but I also needed to go to work today. I guess I needed the sleep more. I watched a movie this afternoon and I am about to go jump in the shower and head outside for some fresh air - hoping that will improve my mood even more. Maybe tomorrow morning I won't feel so much like death and I can go to work.

Sunday, March 20, 2011

beautiful Sunday.

I am loving, loving, loving this beautiful Sunday. All the windows in the house are open, church this morning was great (along the lines of..."if you think you are really saved, are you living like it?"), and now I am cleaning the house like a mad-woman getting ready for a friend to come over. I don't even mind cleaning the house when all the windows are open and the breeze is blowing and it is so beautiful.
Lots to do.
Enjoy the rest of your weekend. Go outside.

Friday, March 18, 2011

i know.

I have really been enjoying watching this surprise us and start to bloom in our yard. There are some nice bulbs in the flower beds (that have looked rather pitiful since we moved in during the late spring last year). Some pretty things near the front steps...
Then our entire yard is covered in flowering weeds - so pretty that I won't let Chad cut the grass just yet - even though it really needs it!

And a beautiful blooming purpleness (someone called it a tulip something-or-other?) in the front yard. Check out Lookout Mtn. in the background - love living at the base of the mtn!

Chad added two more supers to the bee hive in the back yard over the weekend and the bees have already discovered them and started working on filling out the wax. It looks like this early spring warmness might bring us some decent honey later this summer/fall! We might give little jars for Christmas presents! Hello Spring!

Saturday, March 12, 2011

getting close.

It has been an incredibly productive day today. Since Chad is out teaching a lifeguarding class all weekend, I had all last night and today to do whatever I wanted to do. Last night = I did NOTHING. I mean literally - dropped Chad off, came home, played on the computer, read some magazines that came in the mail this week, and went a picked Chad back up (his car is in the shop where it has been for 4 weeks - long, unpleasant story). Today, however, I was much more productive. I dropped Chad off, went to check on his car (they were not open - shocker.), ran some errands with Uncle J (who was going with me to help pick up the car - I think he got out of bed for no reason and I feel bad about it), then I came home and took a nap. A 2 hour nap. Productive? You betcha. I obviously needed it. Hope I didn't screw myself over for sleeping tonight though...maybe I should take a walk this afternoon. Anyway, I then proceeded to: do 3 loads of laundry - last is in the dryer, vacuum all the hardwood floors (just say no to Gwendolen tumbleweeds), cleaned the kitchen, and ran a load of dishes. I still need a shower but since I have to go pick Chad back up in a little while, I can wait. He wants to go run when he gets back so I can go for a walk and shower in the time he will run (Saturdays are his long run days - training for another race!).

I am just a couple of posts away from 700. Never thought I would get this far...even though - apologies - I never really have much to say. How should I celebrate?

I am craving BBQ for dinner. Chattanoogans - what is your favorite BBQ place?